>What Does Clean Mean to You?

>Not just the daily “clean”  but the clean, organized space that’s exactly the way you want…if even for just a little while.  Or maybe that last part is only in my house where between my husband, Cakes, and two dogs nothing lasts very long.  But even knowing that it won’t last very long, a clean space still makes me happy.

Yes, I’ll admit it I’m that person that goes to your house and cleans while I’m there.  It’s partial neurosis and partially me showing my love through cleaning or cooking or organizing or something else for you.  While I’m usually told that I don’t have to do whatever it is I’m doing, I know that the person feels loved and appreciated through my actions.  Let’s face it there are worst things I could be doing to feed my addiction and show my family and friends that I care.  

As with many areas of my life, cleaning is another area that I’m very particular about.  You know on Friends how Monica was the clean freak and would say it may be clean but is it Monica clean?  That’s me.  Sometimes I still find myself recleaning something that someone else did because it may be clean but it’s not Kelly clean.

Well, that was me until I had a baby and my priorities changed.  I continue to crave order and cleanliness but have resigned myself to the fact that it’s not the most important thing.   If someone wants to clean for me so that I don’t have to, I say thank you and appreciate it.  I no longer sneak over and reload the dishwasher so that it’s done the “right” way.  Unless of course it’s the holidays and every dish in the house is dirty and maximizing the dishwasher’s capacity is necessary, then I might take over.  But overall I’ve learned to relax about my approach/obsession with cleaning.  There really are more important things in life.

That all being said, I do not live in a dirty house and clutter over a prolonged period stresses me out.  I plan on writing another post about the things I do to clean my house and what I consider just regular clean and Kelly clean but not to the extreme.

3 responses to “>What Does Clean Mean to You?

  1. >LOL..reading your post reminds me of my younger days and being obsessed with a spotless house and the house being Susan clean. Now that I am older, I have learned I am going to make other household members help out, and I am going to take more time for the things I like to do. In addition, I don't see enough daylight hours, as my son who has disabilities, developed severe sleep apnea a few yrs ago. Because there isn't enough funding through the state we are only allotted so many LNA hours a week so this means I do the night shift. I am up most nights until 4-5am and sleep while he's at Easter Seals during the day. My being up means I can't clean while the rest of the entire house sleeps…so I had to let go and do only what I can when I can. Spotless cleaning isn't how I want to spend the few years left of my life…

  2. >One of my New Year's Resolutions was to purge my home – In January I did my living room. It was so freeing to get rid of stuff we no longer used or needed. I did away with the 'sentimental' and if it didn't have a place or I didn't have room, I took a picture of it and let it go.Now the living room looks so tidy all the time, and doesn't look cluttered, it's easy to dust, and I'm never embarrassed when someone drops in. Hopefully I can get the other rooms in my house done too. This month I plan on doing our dining room, or front hall closet, but haven't started yet!

  3. >I wanted to say thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting… I am now following and I look forward to reading more of your stuff.I have my weekend 6 in 1 blog hop going on right now… where you can link up your blog, twitter, facebook, networkedblog, blogfrog and giveaways. You should swing by!All the best,Kim

Leave a Reply

